Eating My Way Through Insadong

street2

Exploring the small side streets of Insadong.

On any trip to Seoul, I’m always happy strolling through Insadong’s main drag and winding side streets.  Of course, people come here to buy traditional Korean souvenirs, but on this particular day, I came to eat.  First on my list–Jeong Sik (정식).

DSC06459

The many dishes of jeong sik (정식)

Jeong Sik literally translates to “formal meal”.  It typically includes a soup, rice, kimchi and an array of other side dishes, which will vary depending on the region and season.

In my own private dining room, I was served several small dishes.  The meal cost ₩15,000, which is about 15 USD.

DSC06460

Japchae (잡채), stir-fried sweet potato noodles with vegetables and soy sauce.  Chewy noodles with the crispness of the green vegetables.

DSC06461

Doenjang jjigae (된장 찌개), soybean paste soup. Salty with a bit of spice. Has a strong smell, but it’s delicious nonetheless.

DSC06464

Dororimuk muchim (도토리묵무침) is a jelly made from acorn starch. It is mixed with some cabbage, onion, and red pepper paste. This particular one was quite salty.  It is clearly delicious because I have eaten most of it before I could snap a photo.


After lunch, it was only about five minutes before I found myself eating again.  I stumbled upon several street vendors selling desserts.  The one that caught my eye was the green tea ice cream served between two macaroons. The crispiness and chewiness of the macaroon paired great with the cold ice cream.  I needed it because it was HOT outside.

11870902_764035415478_5149019722983455675_n

The next stop was a traditional tea shop.  I ordered some Sujeonggwa, a chilled persimmon and cinnamon tea.  It is often served as a dessert because it is so sweet. 11813440_764035490328_1727561755986479627_n

I was sad to leave Insadong, but there are so many other neighborhoods in Seoul to explore.

2

Leave a Reply

